Ciao, Salve! Today’s gluten free find, Le Veneziane Gnocchi di palate senza glutine, is coming to you from Italy!
I first learned about this product at the Gluten and Allergen Free Expo. I attended for free as a blogger, so I now have the opportunity to bring you sweet stories and recap the whole event! Our first story covered TransOcean’s new 100% gluten free factory.
I had seen many of the products at the expo before, but some booths were new to me, including Quattrobimbi. They are an online distributor of Le Veneziane’s potato gnocchi.
The gnocchi is easy to store, fast to prepare, filling, and tasty. I love how it comes in two stay-fresh tubs. Each tub holds two servings of gnocchi, and once open the gnocchi will stay good in the refrigerator for three days. The fast preparation is one reason I plan on using this gnocchi as one of my go-to dishes during this upcoming ski season. Here is the quick-classic preparation!
Classic Quick Preparation of Potato Gnocchi
I bought the potato gnocchi at the expo rate of $3, and received a complimentary package of the pasta. The pasta is a solid gluten free option that I would pick up if I saw it on the shelf. However, it’s not my favorite gluten free pasta either. I’m excited to cook up gluten free gnocchi throughout the winter, and bring y’all some new GF gnocchi recipes too!
That’s all from here! Have you tried any of Le Veneziane’s gluten free pastas before?! What’s your favorite gluten free pasta?
P.S: If you need more information about the ingredients of the gluten free gnocchi, you can read more below! (Current as of 11/05/14)
- Rehydrated Potatoes 70% (water, potato flakes, emulsifier: mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids, antioxidant: sodium metabisulphite, flavorings)
- Maize Flour
- Potato Starch
- Rice Flour
- Acidity Regulator: Lactic Acid
- Preservatives: Sorbic Acid, flavoring
Have Food Allergies? Here’s what you need to know!
Contains sulfur dioxide and sulphites at concentrations of more than 10 mg/kg or 10 mg/litre. Does not contain gluten, crustaceans, eggs, fish, peanuts, soybeans, milk, nuts, celery, mustard, sesame, lupin, mollusks or products thereof. The factory also has cross contamination protocols for any of these ingredients, you can contact them to learn more!
Confused by “lactic acid?” Here’s what you need to know!
At the expo, we talked about lactic acid because it sounds similar to “lactose.” Lactic acid is used to ferment products throughout the food industry (including yogurts). However, lactic acid does not contain milk, unless that’s the substrate the bacteria was grown on. Always ask the manufacturer if you have a question about the lactic acid. Additionally, the protein will be metabolized by the bacteria, which should leave only individual molecules of the protein (not the whole protein).